Return to Books

No Other Pearl (in the dark folds of life)

A short story collection by the author of Mr. Galaxy’s Unfinished Dream, R. García Vázquez. No Other Pearl (in the dark folds of life) includes “The Battlefield,” “Painting Olivia Tully,” “Venere, Venere,” “Fort Chance Showdown,” “Helen’s Pendant,”  “Where Are You, Ricardo?” and “What the Plate Said.”

The Battlefield

A woman’s loyalty toward her conflicted husband and unpredictable sister is put to the test. Caught between two people she loves dearly, but who have no use for each other, Bonniah must make the most difficult decision of her life.

Painting Olivia Tully

After a previous fling gone bad, a rising young star in a government agency gets back together with Olivia, an older, less accomplished coworker and single mom. Nick isn’t all that sure why he is once again drawn to Olivia, but as he gets closer to her he begins to see the world in a new and staggering way.

Venere, Venere

Married to Mars, a shameless womanizer, Norma (i.e., Venere) herself is tempted to stray toward infidelity the day of their daughter’s wedding.

Fort Chance Showdown

Civilian workers at a U.S. Army base face the imminent closure of their workplace, and a young worker finds himself spying on a colleague at the request of his coworker’s wife.

Helen’s Pendant

After the loss of his beloved, a young man finds consolation in another woman’s silent and unrequited longing.

Where Are You, Ricardo?

An elderly man has been his disabled wife’s caretaker for fifteen years. At a pond in the senior community in which they live, Joseph bares his soul to a swan named Ricardo and fantasizes about being with a woman he encountered one day in the food market.

What the Plate Said

A frustrated working class immigrant father finds that he is incapable of communicating with his flippant American-born teen-aged son and fast-talking daughters about the things that matter most. A violent outburst changes everything.

Permanent link to this article: